The Soundboard Transducer

Steingraeber Creates New Artistic Possibilities With Electronics

Electronics are not always used to serve artistic and creative expression in the world of music. They are often used for muting, or in ‘player pianos’ for example, and in pop music where, of late, the sound just booms out directly from the piano’s soundboard. A musical enhancement? Hardly!

However there are a multitude of professional applications that electronics can offer music and Steingraeber & Söhne has demonstrated just that in a series of trial runs* by composer Robert HP Platz from the University of Musik Würzburg, and pianist Clara Murnig from the Beethoven Institute at the University of Music Vienna. This particular transducer technology was born out of a collaboration between Robert HP Platz and IRCAM Paris, and subsequently optimised in SWR’s (Südwestrundfunk) Experimental Studio in Freiburg. The startlingly-authentic grand piano sound is thanks not to out-dated sampling techniques, but to the physical modelling approach of piano sound ‘Guru’ Philippe Guillaume and his firm Modartt/pianoteq.

Transducer + Physical Modelling = Possibilities

Without Strings / With Hammer Stop
  • Play in all registers (e.g., 415 hz, 435 hz, 442 hz, 460 hz) switching from one to the other instantly at the click of a mouse
  • Play in all temperaments, including historical or non-European, switching from one to the other instantly at the click of a mouse
  • Play other instruments (Harpsichord, Synthesizer, etc.)
With Strings / Without Hammer Stop
  • Play on 2 levels
    • e.g. live performances of quarter-tone music, by Charles Ives and Alois Hába for example, can be created easily, as the sound of the piano’s own strings is mixed flawlessly with that of the transducer, all within the same soundboard. The Transducer Grand Piano is controlled by both the pianist themselves and the sound engineer at the computer.
    • mix the sounds of the real piano and any other instrument
  • Play on 3 levels (2 levels plus the playback of a previous recording = improvisation to a previous improvisation)
  • Compositions requiring a piano with live electronics no longer need an external loudspeaker.
  • The transducer increases the soundboard vibration (strings + piano transducers) and, thus, acts as a ‘volume booster‘ to the sound of a live piano, perfect for open-air concerts.
Part 1: Introduction – Contemporary and Historical Tuning and Temperament

00:00 Simon Vincent: La Mia Coppa Trabocca (2016): Introduction & Verse 1
01:37 Introduction and Contemporary Tuning and Temperament
12:07 Historical Tuning and Temperament
14:06 Bach: Toccata C-Minor BWV 911 (Excerpt) 442 Hz
14:32 Bach: Toccata C-Minor BWV 911 (Excerpt) 415 Hz
16:23 Bach: Toccata C-Minor BWV 911 (Excerpt) Werckmeister III

Part 2: Harmonics, Resonance, and Microtonal Music

00:00 Harmonics and Flageolet Notes
02:42 Microtonal Tuning
04:48 Acoustic and Electroacoustic Pianos: 2 Sounds, 1 Soundboard

Part 3: Acoustic Piano and Synthesized Sound

00:00 Combination and Counterpoint
04:21 Recording and Playback
07:59 Acoustic Piano with Pre-Composed Electronic Sounds

Part 4: Acoustic Piano with Transducer Amplification
Part 5: Interview with Michael Acker, SWR Experimentalstudio

Transducer Background and Concept

Steingraeber

Our Transducer Showroom

Come and visit our Transducer Showroom in the Steingraeber Haus Bayreuth to learn all about the countless possibilities. Undisturbed and without obligation, you can test the grand piano and the sound software.

* Visitors to the VdM Congress in Stuttgart in May 2017 as well as the Cremona Piano Festival in September 2017 organised by Roberto Prosseda, and the ‘Zeit für Neue Musik’ Festival in Bayreuth in March 2018 were able to witness the trial runs at first hand.

Further Videos

BBC Persia, Broadcast of the VdM Congress in Berlin, May 2019

The application of transducers to provide access to a variety of piano temperaments has already aroused the interest of pianist and Professor of Piano at the University of Arts in Teheran, Dr. Pooyan Azadeh, during a visit to Steingraeber in September 2015. In order to adapt ancient Persian music to the piano, he needed pianos with Eastern temperaments and microtones. Especially in Iran, Western instruments must also be capable of authentically performing Eastern music.

The first grand piano of that kind was presented on May 20, 2017 in Stuttgart’s Liederhalle at a concert involving artists from the Vienna University of Music and Performing Arts. The concert was titled “Self-playing and alternately tuned pianos: how modern technology can creatively expand the artistic possibilities of classic pianos: A live demonstration of the Steingraeber & Söhne D-232 Transducer Grand Piano in concert”

Our Cooperation Partners

Menu

Transducer am Resonanzboden

Neue Formen des künstlerischen Einsatzes!

Elektronik im Klavier dient fast nie dem künstlerischen Bereich; meist geht es um Stummschaltungen, Selbstspieler oder Unterhaltungsmusik, die neuerdings aus Klavieren dröhnt. Musikalische Bereicherung? Fehlanzeige!

Gleichwohl gibt es eine Vielzahl professioneller Einsatzmöglichkeiten der Elektronik. Steingraeber & Söhne hat dies inzwischen bei Probeläufen* demonstriert. Die künstlerischen Begleiter waren dabei der Komponist Robert HP Platz von der HfM Würzburg und das Beethoven Institut der Musikuni Wien mit der Pianistin Clara Murnig. Die Transducertechnik stammt ursprünglich aus einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen Robert HP Platz und dem IRCAM Paris und wurde nun im Experimentalstudio des Südwestrundfunks (SWR) in Freiburg optimiert. Der verstörend authentische Flügelklang entstammt nicht der veralteten Sampling-Technik, sondern dem physical modelling des Klavierklang-„Gurus“ Philippe Guillaume und seiner Firma Modartt/pianoteq.

Transducer + Klangsoftware = Möglichkeiten

Ohne Saiten / Mit Hammerstopp
  • Spielen in verschiedenen Tonlagen
  • Spielen in verschiedenen Stimmungen (historische, orientalische, etc.)
  • Spielen verschiedener Instrumente (Cembalo, Synthesizer etc.)
Mit Saiten / Ohne Hammerstopp
  • Spielen auf 2 Ebenen
    • das echte und das virtuelle Klavier gemeinsam, z.B. bei Vierteltonmusik von Charles Ives, Alois Hába u.a.m.
    • Klänge mischen mit einem bliebigen Instrument über die Transducer und dem echten Klavier
  • Spielen auf 3 Ebenen (2 Ebenen plus die Wiedergabe einer Aufnahme, z.B. beim Improvisieren zu einer Improvisation)
  • Klavier mit live-Elektronik aus dem Klavier heraus (ohne Lautsprecher)
  • Klavierspiel mit doppelter Resonanzboden-Schwingung („Volume-Booster“)
Video 1: Einführung – zeitgenössische und historische Stimmungen und Tonhöhen
  • Contemporary Tuning and Temperament
  • Historical Tuning and Temperament
  • Bach: Toccata C-Minor BWV 911 in 442 Hz, 415 Hz, Werckmeister III
Video 2: Schwingungen, Resonanzen und Microton Musik
  • Harmonics and Flageolet Notes
  • Microtonal Tuning
  • Acoustic and Electroacoustic Pianos: 2 Sounds, 1 Soundboard
Video 3: Akustischer Flügel mit Synthesizer-Klängen
  • Combination and Counterpoint
  • Recording and Playback
  • Acoustic Piano with Pre-Composed Electronic Sounds
Video 4: Akustischer Flügel mit Transducer-Verstärkung
Video 5: Interview mit Michael Acker, SWR Experimentalstudio: Transducer-Hintergrund und -Konzept
Steingraeber

Unsere Transducer Showroom

Nutzen Sie unseren Transducer Showroom im Steingraeber Haus, um alle Möglichkeiten persönlich kennenzulernen. Ungestört und unverbindlich können Sie hier den Flügel und die Klangsoftware testen.

* Die Probeläufe konnten die Besucher des VdM-Kongresses in Stuttgart, Mai 2017, in der Liederhalle erleben sowie jene des von Roberto Prosseda in Cremona organisierten Klavierfestivals im September 2017 und dem Festival “Zeit für Neue Musik” in Bayreuth, März 2018.

Verwandte Videos

BBC Persien mit einem Bericht vom VdM Kongress in Berlin im Mai 2019

Den Anwendungsbereich der unterschiedlichen Klavierstimmungen mittels Transducer regte der Pianist und Professor für Klavier an der Universität der Künste Teheran, Dr. Pooyan Azadeh, bei Steingraeber schon im September 2015 an. Er benötigt Klaviere mit orientalischen Stimmungen und Teiltönen, um alte Persische Musik für das Klavier zu adaptieren – gerade im Iran wird gefordert, dass westliche Instrumente auch orientalische Musik authentisch wiederzugeben in der Lage sind.

Der erste Flügel dieser Art wurde  am 20. Mai 2017 in der Liederhalle Stuttgart live in einem Konzert von Künstlern der Musikuniversität Wien vorgestellt. Titel des Konzertes war “Selbst- und fremdbestimmte Klaviere: wie man dank moderner Technologie den künstlerischen Einsatz des klassischen Klaviers kreativ erweitern kann: Eine konzertante Live-Demonstration am Steingraeber & Söhne Transducer-Flügel D-232”

Unsere Kooperationspartner

Menü